It’s a cakewalk…

Growing up in inner-city Boston, I never heard of a ‘cakewalk.‘ I’m pretty sure no one I know from back home would know what it is either. I witnessed a cakewalk for the first time last year at the Dairy Festival in upstate New York, and it looked like a lot of fun! It’s totally something I would have loved as a kid…I mean, who wouldn’t want to ‘compete’ for dessert?

My boss asked me to make something for her daughter’s school’s cakewalk, and I happily obliged. I had been wanting to do brush embroidery on a cake, but with no upcoming birthdays I didn’t really have any reason to make a whole cake just to try it out. This gave me the perfect opportunity!

The cake itself just kind of hit me–Eric and I had s’mores in our backyard last weekend, and they must have been on my mind (as well as everyone else’s…I keep seeing s’mores desserts popping up everywhere!) I couldn’t decide what I wanted to do for the cake, and I opened the pantry one day to see all the fixings for s’mores…and that’s how the cake was decided! It’s a chocolate fudge cake with graham cracker buttercream and marshmallow buttercream filling. Yum!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s a cakewalk…

  1. Laura Black says:

    We won this cake!!!! It is awesome. Thank you for supporting our school. This was the first cake to go.
    Laura Black

    • Anonymous says:

      That cake sounds like it would be soooo gooooooood!!!!! I hope that I get to taste one like it someday!

      Lovingly,
      Grandma T.

  2. Hannah Somers says:

    Uhmm… yeah… too bad cakes don’t ship well…

  3. Melissa says:

    Hahahahahahaha bet you didn’t think you’d learn anything useful when you laughed at me doing that cakewalk!! So glad the experience came in handy. 😉

  4. krista says:

    When I showed up with this cake at the school, all the moms setting up the cake walk about fell over. We all agreed it was entirely to beautiful for some little elementary school child to win at a cake walk! It is worthly of a bridesmaid luncheon. Thanks Ryan!

Leave a Reply

