Ballerina Cake

My boss’ middle daughter turns 5 today, and I was honored to be asked to make a ballerina cake for her birthday party. I did a little searching online and found a number of absolutely adorable ‘ballerina’ cakes, using the “Sugar Plum Fairy” design from Debbie Brown’s book, Enchanted Cakes. As soon as I saw it, I knew that was the cake I had to make!

This was my first character cake, and my second time using fondant. I’m pleased with the way it turned out. All told, it took about 6.5 hours to make this cake…but if I were to do it again, it would probably be a bit more streamlined and faster.

And, because I wasn’t sure if there would be enough cake for the party, I made the birthday girl a half dozen of cupcakes as well (the cake is two layers, 8″). Eric and I have enjoyed the extra cupcakes!

The ballerina cake is Fluffy Yellow Cake with a Vanilla Pastry Cream filling. The outside is a sweet buttercream crumb coat, and the fondant is homemade. The cupcakes are also Fluffy Yellow Cake with buttercream frosting.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ballerina Cake

  1. Martha Tollefson says:

    Good luck with this new venture, Ryan. It is ashame that you live so far away. We have 2 birthdays coming in the next 2 months and I could use some help on them……..but alas, those miles are too far for much help here. Your work is so beautiful and certainly have that touch of class.
    Love,
    Grandma T.

  2. Rylee says:

    Ryan, Im so proud of you! You have always been so creative! Im glad to see you happy with what your doing on the side =] dont forget im leaving for chicago && my birthday so0 lets see what kind of cake you can come up for that occasion! I love you and Good luck!

Leave a Reply

